Olamide drops fifth album, ‘Eyan MayWeather’

Olamide drops fifth album, ‘Eyan MayWeather’

Monday, November 23, 2015 12:10 pm

Funsho Arogundade
Olamide: New album

Olamide: New album

YBNL front man and rap star, Olamide has released a new album, Eyan MayWeather.

The highly anticipated album, released on Monday 23 November, is Olamide’s fifth in five years and second this year. In April, Olamide and Phyno put out a collaborative album “2 Kings”.

‘Eyan MayWeather’ is a 21-track project containing his numerous hits including ‘Lagos Boy’, ‘Bobo’, ‘Melo Melo’, ‘Jega’, ‘Matter Arising’ and album cover title,  ‘Eyan MayWeather’.

It was mainly produced by Mr Pheelz, with support from ID Cabasa, Young John and Major Banks.

Interestingly, the new album has received huge acceptance as it has climbed to number two on iTunes barely two hours after its release.

The cover of the album

The cover of the album

(You can listen to one of the tracks here:

Unlike his previous albums, Olamide’s ‘Eyan MayWeather’ has no collaboration with any artiste including those on his label (Adekunle Gold and Lil Kesh).

‘Bobo’, a track in the new album fetched Olamide the Best Male Artiste in West Africa award at the 2015 All Africa Music Awards,  AFRIMA, held penultimate Sunday in Lagos, Nigeria.

Last week, Olamide unveiled the artwork and track list of the anticipated album.

He has since then been receiving support from fellow artistes and fans including international rapper, Wale who reposted the album art on Instagram with the caption: “My brother #baddo on his fifth album, plenty reasons to #behappy. Abi?. All my naija niggas wit me!”

Other albums by Olamide are Rapsodi (2011), YBNL (2012), Baddest Guy Ever Liveth (2013) and Street OT (2014).

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.