Januzaj Called Up as Belgium, Cote D'Ivoire Release World Cup Squad Lists

Januzaj Called Up as Belgium, Cote D'Ivoire Release World Cup Squad Lists

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 2:50 pm

Belgium have also released a 30-man provisional squad list for the World Cup, with Manchester United youngster Adnan Januzaj the notable inclusion in a star-studded list.

Januzaj only pledged his international future to Belgium last month, having previously been eligible to represent Kosovo, Serbia and Croatia among other nations.

The 19 year old is joined in the squad by Man. United teammate Marouane Fellaini, Chelsea winger Eden Hazard and on-loan Everton striker Romelo Lukaku, who turns 21 today.

Also in the squad are Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany, on-loan Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Cortois, Liverpool goalkeeper Simon Mignolet and Arsenal captain Thomas Vermaelen.

Belgium coach Marc Wilmorts also named six players in a stand-by list, including Eden Hazard’s younger brother Thorgan as well as highly rated Radja Nainggolan of AS Roma.

Cote D’Ivoire on their part have named a 28-man provisional squad which includes reigning African footballer of the year Yaya Touré, his brother Kolo, Galatasaray striker Didier Drogba and Lille forward Salomon Kalou.

Also called up is Toulouse defender Serge Aurier, who is a reported target of English club Arsenal, as well as Swansea City striker Wilfred Bony. Galatasaray defender Emmanuel Eboue however was not called up.

The Ivorians will compete in Group C at the World Cup alongside Colombia, Japan and Greece while Belgium are in Group H alongside South Korea, Russia and Algeria.

Cote D’Ivoire squad
Barry Boubacar Copa, Sylvain Gbohouo, Badra Ali, Sayouba Mandé

Kolo Touré, Bamba Soueleiman, Didier Zokora, Serge Aurier, Arthur Boka, Angoua Brou Benjamin, Diarrassouba Viera, Constant Djakpa, Brice Dja Djédjé, Jean-Daniel Akpa Akpro

Yaya Touré, Cheick Tioté, Serey Dié Geoffroy, Max-Alain Gradel, Diomandé Ismaël, Didier Ya Konan

Gervinho, Didier Drogba, Salomon Kalou, Wilfried Bony, Seydou Doumbia, Mathis Bolly, Lacina Traoré, Giovani Sio

Belgium Squad
Thibaut Cortois, Simon Mignolet, Koen Casteels/Silvio Proto.

Toby Alderweireld, Anthony Vanden Borre, Laurent Ciman, Vincent Kompany, Daniel Van Buyten, Thomas Vermaelen, Nicholas Lombaerts, Jan Vertonghen.

Axel Witsel, Steven Defour, Marouane Fellaini, Mousa Dembélé, Nacer Chadli, Kevin De Bruyne, Adnan Januzaj.

Romelu Lukaku, Divock Origi, Eden Hazard, Dries Mertens, Kevin Mirallas.

Stand-by players
Radja Nainggolan, Thorgan Hazard, Jelle van Damme, Guillaume Gillet, Michy Batshuayi, Sébastien Pocognoli.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.