Makinde speaks on gubernatorial election victory

Makinde speaks on gubernatorial election victory

Monday, March 11, 2019 12:55 pm

Seyi Makinde: emerges new Oyo governor

The Oyo State governor-elect, Mr Seyi Makinde, has assured the people of the state that he would provide good governance and endeavour to fulfill all his campaign promises.

Addressing journalists on Monday at his Ikolaba home in Ibadan, Makinde commended the electorate for entrusting him with their mandate during Saturday’s election that produced him as the governor-elect of the state.

He noted that the voting pattern during the election clearly showed the dogged determination of the people in spite of efforts to frustrate their will.

The governor-elect, who emerged on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), promised not to disappoint the people, but solicited for their support to move the state forward.

According to him, we need to take realistic decisions together in order to fullfil your desire for a better life and God helping me, I will not disappoint you.

Makinde said that with the majority PDP member legislature, the electorate had made it easier for his government, when inaugurated “to push through all our people-oriented policies particularly in critical sectors of education, health and job ccreatio,” Makinde said.

The 52-year-old governor-elect further promised to be governor of all irrespective of political or religious affiliation.

He condemned the needless bloodletting, maiming and killings which led to the death of a federal legislator, Mr Temitope Olatoye and others during the election period.

Makinde assured the families of the deceased that their deaths would not be in vain.

He further thanked the chieftains of coalition of political parties that gave support to his emergence as governor-elect.

The News Agency if Nigeria(NAN) reports that Makinde emerged winner of the state governorship election held on March 9 with 515,621 votes while his closest rival, Mr Adebayo Adelabu of APC garnered 357,982.

The PDP also produced 26 state house of assembly members in the state constituency election as against five won by APC.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.