Godwin Obaseki emerges Edo APC governorship candidate

Godwin Obaseki emerges Edo APC governorship candidate

Sunday, June 19, 2016 5:54 am

Godwin Obaseki: Jubilant

Godwin Obaseki: Jubilant

Godwin Obaseki has emerged the winner of the Edo state All Progressives Congress governorship primary election held at Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Saturday.

The election which ended in the early hours of Sunday morning, was contested by 12 aspirants.

Obaseki’s election was announced by Governor Aminu Masari of Katsina State, who chaired the proceedings.

2,873 delegates from 192 wards of Edo state were accredited for the primary election.

Obaseki, highly favoured to clinch victory, scored 1618 votes to emerge APC’s flag bearer. His closest rival , Pius Odubu, the deputy governor, scored 471 votes.

The breakdown of the results as given by the NTA which covered the election live:

Agbarha Justina 3
Chris Ogiemwonyi 137
Oserheimen Osunbor 10
Godwin Obaseki 1618
Kenneth Imansuangbon 247
Blessing Agbomhere 5
Charles Airhiavbere 11
Fredrick Amadasun 8
Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula 10
Austin Emuan 7
Peter Esele 8

The governorship election will take place in September.

Join The Conversation

One Comment

  • Godwill judgeus says:

    Let the most popular candidate win please

  • What do you think?

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.