Bayelsa election: Sylva edges Dickson in Nembe supplementary poll

Bayelsa election: Sylva edges Dickson in Nembe supplementary poll

Sunday, January 10, 2016 2:02 pm

INEC  has announced the result of the supplementary election held in Nembe local government of Bayelsa state on 9 January.

Of the accredited voters of 2,649, the APC candidate, Timipre Sylva scored 1,400 votes, while the incumbent PDP candidate, Seriake Dickson got 1,160 votes.

Results in units where there was over-voting were cancelled.

With the latest result, the PDP candidate  now has 11, 928 votes, while Sylva has 8,374 councils in the LG area.

In Ekeremor LGA, Dickson however, widened his lead by winning 2,895 votes of the 3,010 votes cast, thus widening his lead. APC won 257 votes.

Collated results so far, showed that Governor Seriake Dickson is still in the lead, with a majority of 37,000 votes, over his APC rival and former governor Timpire Sylva.

Dickson now has 112,117votes, while Sylva has about 76, 636 votes.

The APC agent at the collation centre has been complaining about the unfairness of the poll, contending that votes were cancelled where the APC candidate won.

He was contradicted by the PDP agent, who said the APC should not complain and that the party does not deserve the 257 votes it won in Ekeremor.


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.