Rivers state: Appeal court sacks 16 PDP Assembly members

Rivers state: Appeal court sacks 16 PDP Assembly members

Wednesday, December 23, 2015 8:09 pm

Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt

Sixteen  members of the Rivers House of Assembly out of 32  on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party,PDP, have so far lost their appeal against the earlier nullification of their elections at Tribunal.

The Court of Appeal in its latest judgment so far said the election that brought the affected 16 PDP Lawmakers to power did not substantially comply with the Electoral law thereby upholding the petitions of Hope Barango-Tariah of APC was upheld

In Asari Toru constituency 1 – Hope Barango-Tariah of APC won against Granville Wellington of PDP.

Similarly, in Asari Toru Constituency 2 Emeni George PDP lost to Godstime Ben-Horsfall of  APC.  The PDP lawmaker representing Ahoada-East 2 lost his appeal to the challenger, Ibiso Nwuche of APC,and in Akuku-Toru constituency one,Jack Major of PDP lost his appeal to challenge of Ineye Jack of APC.

Ikuinyi .O.Ibani,the immediate past Speaker of the House who represents Andoni constituency lost his appeal against the challenge of Romnsan Dressman of APC.

The representative of Degema constituency, Farah Dagogo,lost his appeal against the challenge Eldred Braide of APC.

Golden Ben Chioma of APC triumphed over Tonye U.Ejiogu of PDP representing Etche constituency 2.

Other PDP lawmakers who lost include; Oguguo Anslem representing Ikwerre.He lost his appeal against Azubuike Wanjoku of APC. Dinebari Loolo of Khana constituency 2 had the earlier nullification of his mandate upheld by the Court of Appeal affirming the deposition of Friday Nkee of APC.

Martin Amaehule of PDP representing Obio/Akpor constituency One lost his attempt retain his mandate as contested by Collins Ordu of APC.

Michael. O Chinda of PDP representing Obio/Akpor constituency 2 also fell in the challenge posed by Belief Wali of APC.

Evans Bipi, an aide to Mrs Patience Jonathan, the Wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan  could not hold on to his seat at Ogu/Bolo. He lost to  Williams I. S. Enos of APC.

For the Omuma constituency, Leo Anyanwu of APC still won the earlier nullification of the mandate of Kelechi G.Nwogu at the Court of Appeal. For the Ogba-Egbema-Ndoni Constituency, Gift Wokocha of APC  triumphed over Christian Ahiankwo of PDP.

The same goes for Ngbar Amulele of PDP who still lost to Matthew Dike of APC. Irene Inimgba of APC nullified the election of the PDP candidate, Ihunwo Nyeche for Port Harcourt constituency Two.

There are some other cases still pending.

Join The Conversation

One Comment

  • kingly says:

    is it that the number of voters for apc or ballots for apc are more than that of pdp or that apc had a different ballot box where their votes were cast differently so that even though the elections held the same day and with the same ballot box, apc can still be different from the general. well it is their turn just do as you like. it will be another persons turn tomorrow

  • What do you think?

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.