Venus Williams wins US Open sportsmanship award

Venus Williams wins US Open sportsmanship award

Saturday, September 12, 2015 8:40 am

Venus Williams

Venus Williams

The United States Tennis Association(USTA) has announced Venus Williams as the winner of  the fifth annual US Open Sportsmanship Award.

The award is presented to the professional tennis player who best demonstrates excellence in sportsmanship throughout the Emirates Airline US Open Series and the US Open.

Williams, a two-time US Open champion, joins Kevin Anderson as this year’s US Open Sportsmanship Award recipients.

“What more can you say that hasn’t already been said about Venus Williams,” said USTA Chairman, CEO and President Katrina Adams.

“She is the personification of class and grace as a competitor and is the perfect recipient of the US Open Sportsmanship Award.”

The USTA started a Sportsmanship Committee in 2011. Its charge is to “educate and inspire youngsters and their parents to develop and exhibit a high degree of sportsmanship and an attitude of fair play and mutual respect on and off the tennis court. Underlying the charge is the ethical imperative that fairness is more important than winning.”

Eligibility requirements for winners include participating in at least two Series tournaments, as well as the 2015 US Open. Each US Open Sportsmanship Award winner receives a trophy and a $5,000 donation to the charity of his or her choice.

Past winners include Roger Federer and Caroline Wozniacki (2014), Li Na and David Ferrer (2013) and Bob and Mike Bryan and Samantha Stosur (2012).

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.