Seven Nations Bid for 2017 Nations Cup

Seven Nations Bid for 2017 Nations Cup

Tuesday, October 7, 2014 3:37 pm

Confederation of African Football (CAF) has received bids from seven nations to host the 2017 edition of the African Cup of Nations after CAF withdrew the hosting rights from Libya as fighting continues in the north African nation.

The new bids has three north African nations in Algeria, Egypt and Sudan, while two West African nations Gabon and Ghana have also indicated their interest in hosting the competition which would also be celebrating its 60th anniversary then.

The other bids are from from East African nation Kenya and southern African nation Zimbabwe, with CAF to make a final decision on the successful bid in 2015.

Ghana has hosted the competition four times before, the last being in 2008 while Egypt has previously hosted the competition three times with both nations each winning on two occasions of being host.

Sudan have hosted just one edition back in 1962, as have Algeria in 1990 and Gabon in 2012 when it co-hosted the competition alongside Equatorial Guinea. Zimbabwe is the only bidding nation that has never hosted the competition.

In 2011, Libya was originally awarded the hosting rights of the 2013 edition while Morocco and South Africa were handed the rights to the 2015 and 2017 editions respectively.

Due to the Libyan civil war however, Libya and South Africa agreed to exchange years, with South Africa eventually hosting the 2013 edition which was won by Nigeria courtesy of a 1-0 win in the final against Burkina Faso.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.