Nasri Snubbed as France Name 23-man World Cup Squad

Nasri Snubbed as France Name 23-man World Cup Squad

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 9:39 pm

Manchester City midfielder Samir Nasri is one of a host of high pofile players left out of France’s 23-man World Cup squad revealed tonight by coach Didier Deschamps.

Despite being a regular with the newly crowned English champions, Nasri remains well down the pecking order in the French national team owing to past incidents which led to discord in the France squad, especially after Euro 2012.

Surprise call-ups were given Lucas Digne of PSG and Stephane Ruffier of Monaco while stalwarts Hugo Lloris, Karim Benzema, Patrice Evra, Bacary Sagna, Blaise Matuidi and Franck Ribery were called up.

Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud and teammate Laurent Koscielny were also called up, as were Yohan Cabaye, Mamadou Sahko, Antoine Griezmann, Löic Remy and Paul Pogba.

Also not called up by Deschamps are Nasri’s Man. City teammate Gäel Clichy, Olympique Marseille striker Andre Gignac, Sevilla striker Kevin Gameiro and Olympique Lyon striker Bafetimbi Gomis.

Elsewhere, AS Monaco Radamel Falcao has been called up to Colombia’s provisional World Cup squad, despite nursing a cruciate ligament injury since January.

And Robin van Persie is one of few regular players called up by Louis van Gaal to the 30-man provisional squad of the Netherlands, which is predominantly made up of home-based players and features a mix of old and young players.

Also called up by Dutch coach van Gaal are Klass-Jan Huntelaar, Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart while Marteen Stekelenberg, Virgil van Dijk and Gregory van der Wiel were all left out.

Finally, Carlos Tevez is the notable omission from the 30-man Argentina squad list released tonight as well, with Werder Bremen striker Franco di Sancto called up instead.

Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuain, Sergio Agüero, Lucas Biglia, Angel di Maria, Pablo Zabaleta, Ezequiel Garay, Jose Sosa, Fernando Gago, Ezequiel Lavezzi and Nicolas Gaítan are among the players called-up to a star-studded Argentina side.

France squad
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Mickael Landreau (Bastia).

Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle United), Lucas Digne (Paris St. Germain) Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Eliaquim Mangala (Porto), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid).

Yohan Cabaye (Paris St. Germain), Blaise Matuidi (Paris St. Germain), Clement Grenier (Lyon), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (Real Sociedad), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle), Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich),

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Loic Remy (QPR – on loan at Newcastle United), Stephane Ruffier (Monaco).

Standby player
Loic Perrin (St Etienne), Maxime Gonalons (Lyon), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton), Benoit Tremoulinas (Dynamo Kiev), Remy Cabella (Montpellier).

Netherlands squad
Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg), Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Karim Rekik (PSV), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Daley Blind (Ajax).

Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord)

Quincy Promes (Twente), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Jean-Paul Boetius (Feyenoord), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Memphis Depay (PSV).

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.