Minority Leader, 5 other PDP Lawmakers defect to APC in Lagos

Minority Leader, 5 other PDP Lawmakers defect to APC in Lagos

Thursday, February 16, 2017 6:25 pm

L-R: Honourable Jude Idimogu, Oshodi Isolo Constituency 2; Honourable Hakeem Olushola Shokumle, Oshodi Isolo Constituency 1; Honourable (Mrs.) Mosunmola Sangodara, Surulere Constituency 2; Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa; Honourable Adedayo Famakinwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun Constituency 2; and Honourable Fatai Oluwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun Constituency 1 when five lawmakers from the PDP defected to APC

By Jamiu Yisa

Six out of the eight lawmakers from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Lagos State House of Assembly have officially defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Their defection took place on Thursday after the house plenary session.

Five members initially defected on the floor of the house, while the Minority leader , Akeem Bello who was in the mosque as at the time of the defection joined his colleagues afterwards.

Those who defected include the Minority Leader, Akeem Bello from Amuwo Odofin Constituency 2, the Minority Whip, Mosunmola Sangodara from Surulere Constituency 2, Akeem Shokunle from Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 1, Jude Idimogu from Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 1, Dayo Famakinwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun 2 and Oluwa Fatai from Ajeromi/Ifelodun 1.

Members who did not jump ship are Dipo Olorunrinu from Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1 and Victor Akande from Ojo Constituency 1.

The defected PDP members hinged their defection on the crisis in the party at the state and federal levels.

It was reliably gathered that their defection was a product of months of discussion between the leaders of the APC on one hand and all the eight PDP members in the assembly.


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.