INEC to conduct Abuja rerun polls Wednesday

INEC to conduct Abuja rerun polls Wednesday

Monday, April 11, 2016 11:40 pm

an INEC card reader

an INEC card reader

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed Wednesday for re-run elections in 39 polling units within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) to complete the chairmanship elections in areas where elections were cancelled.

This is contained in a statement signed by the Commission’s FCT Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. Jacob Jatau on Monday in Abuja.

INEC had declared elections in Kuje, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Gwagwalada and Abaji Area Councils to be inconclusive.

“INEC-FCT will on Wednesday, April 13, conduct re-run elections in 39 polling units in 20 Registration Areas (RAs) of the Federal Capital Territory.

“Results in the affected polling units were cancelled for reasons ranging from violence, over voting and non-use of Smart Card Readers or accreditation of voters.”

It stated that accreditation and voting in the affected polling units would begin simultaneously from 8 a.m to 2pm.

The Commission therefore called on the political parties and their candidates to toe the path of peace to ensure the conclusion of the elections.

Mr Nick Dazang, INEC Deputy Director of Publicity and Voter Education, in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) said adequate security had been provided for the re-run elections.

“There will not be restriction in the movement of people as areas affected are not many but certainly there will be presence of security to secure the area,” Nick said.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.