Messi wins fifth FIFA Ballon D’Or

Messi wins fifth FIFA Ballon D’Or

Monday, January 11, 2016 8:01 pm

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi

Argentinian  and Barcelona striker, Lionel Messi has won  his record-breaking  fifth Ballon d’Or after his consecutive victories from 2009-2012.
Messi was declared winner of the prestigious football award ahead of Barcelona of Spain teammate, Neymar and Real Madrid star, Cristiano Ronaldo in a ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.
Messi won the award back to back from 2009 edition to  2012 and now 2015 edition.

The best in the world: Carli Llyod and Messi

The best in the world: Carli Lloyd and Messi

“It is a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage, winning again another Ballon d’Or after being there in the audience watching Cristiano win. It’s incredible this is my fifth,” he said  at the podium after collecting the award.
“ It’s much more than anything I’ve dreamed of as a kid. I want to thank everyone who voted for me and I want to thank my team-mates. And lastly, I want to thank football in general for everything it has brought me. Both the bad and the good. Because it has made me learn and grow.”
American lady,Carli Lloyd won the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year award.
She became  the third player from the USA to scoop the award, after Mia Hamm (2001-02) and Abby Wambach (2012).

The awards,  nominees and winners; 

FIFA Ballon d’Or: Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar

Winner :Lionel Messi

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year: Carli Lloyd, Aya Miyama, Celia Sasic

Winner: Carli Lloyd

FIFA World Coach of the Year (Men’s): Pep Guardiola, Luis Enrique, Jorge Sampaoli

Winner: Luis Enrique(Barcelona)

FIFA World Coach of the Year (Women’s): Jill Ellis, Mark Sampson, Norio Sasaki

Winner: Jill Ellis

FIFA Puskás Award: Alessandro Florenzi, Wendell Lira, Lionel Messi

Winner: Wendell Lira, Brazil ( for his bicycle kick goal)

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.