Election 2015: IGP Redeploys 17 Senior Officers, lists electoral offences

Election 2015: IGP Redeploys 17 Senior Officers, lists electoral offences

Friday, March 27, 2015 9:12 am

•Inspector-General Suleiman Abba

•Inspector-General Suleiman Abba

About 24 hours to the presidential election in Nigeria, the Inspector-General of Police, Suleiman Abba, has ordered the immediate redeployment of top officers of the force.

Abba also listed what the law enforcement agency considers as electoral offences and warned the public against taking part in any of such offences.

In all, 17 officers including six Deputy Inspectors-General, five Assistant Inspectors-General and six Commissioners of Police were redeployed.

According to a statement by Emmanuel Ojukwu, Force Public Relations Officer, DIG Dan’Azumi Doma is the new Coordinator of the South-East Zone, DIG Mamman Tsafe, will now coordinate South-South Zone and DIG Hashimu Argungu, will coordinate the South-West Zone.

Also, DIG Christopher Katso is the new Coordinator of the North-West Zone, DIG Hilary Opara is the new Coordinator of North-East Zone, and DIG Adeola Adeniji is the new Coordinator of North-Central Zone.

While AIG Kalafite Adeyemi now coordinates the South-West Zone, AIG Bala Magaji Nasarawa is the new Assistant Coordinator of the North-Central Zone, AIG Adisa Bolanta is Assistant Coordinator of the North-West Zone, AIG Usman Gwary, is new AIG in charge of Federal Operations (FEDOPS), Abuja and AIG Mark Idakwo is now in charge of Zone 9 Umuahia.

For commissioners, Hosea Karma has been redeployed to Rivers State Command, Adamu Mohammed is now in charge of Anambra State Command, Dan Bature is in charge of Enugu State Command, Usman Abdullahi is in charge of Katsina State Command, Jimoh Ozi-Obeh is in charge of Benue State Command while Hyacinth Dagala is in charge of Department of Operations (DOPs) FHQ Abuja.

A list of the electoral offences are reproduced below:

(1) Casting of vote twice or more.

(2) Announcing false election result.

(3) Stopping any other person from voting.

(4) Revealing information on a ballot paper of another person.

(5) Being in possession of another person’s voter card.

(6) Disorderly Behaviour at polling unit.

(7) Canvassing for votes at polling unit.

(8) Shouting Slogan of a political party at polling unit.

(9) Being armed with guns, sticks, stones or any other dangerous weapons at polling unit.

(10) Loitering or walking about in a poling unit.

(11) Using siren at a polling unit.

(12) Snatching or destroying ballot boxes or Card readers.

(13) Holding public meeting during election hours on Election Day.

(14) Wearing or carrying badge or poster of a political party.

(15) Inflicts or threatens to inflict injury on any person or persons at a polling unit.

The Nigeria Police Force advises the public to avoid trouble, as any offender will be arrested and prosecuted.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.