Ngige, Inegbeneki, Alasoadura pick APC tickets for senate poll

Ngige, Inegbeneki, Alasoadura pick APC tickets for senate poll

Tuesday, December 9, 2014 12:51 am

Senator Ngige

Senator Ngige

Former Youth Leader of PDP in Edo, Chief Francis Inegbeneki on Monday in Ubiaja, won the All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries for the Edo Central Senatorial seat for the general elections in 2015.

He polled 852 votes to beat Mr Joe Okojie (335 votes) and Mr Theophilus Okoh (271 votes).

In Anambra state, Sen. Chris Ngige (APC-Anambra) has again received the nod of members of APC to re-contest the seat in 2015.

Ngige, representing Anambra Central Senatorial District, was the sole contestant.

He, however, polled 1,832 votes out of 1,834 votes. Two votes were voided.

Ngige expressed joy over the unanimous votes cast for him, saying that it was an affirmation that he would be re-elected in the main contest.

“I feel humbled with the huge support that was given to me by the delegates and the entire party members.

“I want to assure party leaders that we are ready for the battle in 2015 and we will win again,” Ngige said.

NAN reports that the primary was supervised by the party’s National Assembly Primary Committee by led by Mr Gideon Sammau and Alhaji Akeem Okedara as Secretary.

Sammau , who declared Ngige winner of the primary, also issued a Certificate of Return to him.

Meanwhile, the member representing Ogbaru Federal Constituency of the state, Mr Afam Ogene, decamped from APGA to APC.

Ogene promised to work for the success of APC in the state.

The Ondo Central Senatorial ticket went to Tayo Alasoadura. He got 806 votes, while his closest rival, Ifedayo Abegunde, a member of the House of Representatives had 778 votes. The votes voided were 105 votes.

“I thank the delegates who have chosen me to work for them, and I am giving them the assurance that I will do my best”, he said.

The Senator representing Ondo State Senatorial District, Prof Ajayi Boroffice got a return ticket.

Boroffice, who contested the primary with Dr. K.S Shaaba, the incumbent House of Representatives member from Akoko North East/West, Ganny Dauda and London based lawyer Nathaniel Adojutelegan polled 1,460 votes.

Shaaba scored 31 votes, Dauda 569 and Adojutelegan got 139 votes.

Also, in Ondo South , a legal practitioner, Morayo Lebi was elected candidate of the party with 1261 votes, while his opponent, Femi Akingbola got 152 votes.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.