Speaker, 14 APC lawmakers win primaries in Zamfara, one loses

Speaker, 14 APC lawmakers win primaries in Zamfara, one loses

Thursday, December 4, 2014 11:34 am

Fifteen All Progressives Congress (APC) members of the Zamfara House of Assembly will re-contest their positions in the 2015 general elections.

Only one member representing Maru North lost to an opponent, Abubakar Ibrahim, at Tuesday’s state assembly primary election of the party.

Addressing newsmen in Gusau on Thursday, the state Secretary of the party, Alhaji Sani Musa, said 11 of the 15 members who won the election were returned unopposed while four won through contest.

Musa further said that those who returned un-opposed included the Speaker of the house, Alhaji Sunusi Rikiji (Gusau 1); the Majority Leader, Alhaji Salisu Musa (Tsafe North); Dayyabu Rijiya (Gusau 2); Abdulmumin Isa (Talata-Mafara North) and Aliyu Ango ( Talata-Mafara South).

According to the secretary, those who won through contest were the Deputy Speaker of the house, Alhaji Abubakar Muhammad (Gummi 1); Hashimu Shehu (Gummi 2); Ibrahim Kwatarkwashi (Bungudu East) and Aminu Danjibga (Tsafe South).

He added that another eight members were also returned unopposed to contest the seats currently occupied by the opposition PDP at the 24-member assembly.

The secretary commended the APC members for their support and cooperation during the exercise, saying that the elections were conducted peacefully and successfully

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.