Plateau Speaker, Majority Leader win PDP primaries

Plateau Speaker, Majority Leader win PDP primaries

Monday, December 1, 2014 7:32 am

Plateau Speaker, Titus Ayuba Alams: wins ticket

Plateau Speaker, Titus Ayuba Alams: wins ticket

Mr Titus Alams, the Speaker Plateau House Assembly, and Mr Daniel Dem, the Majority Leader, have won their PDP primaries to contest in next year’s general elections.

Declaring the results of Saturday’s primaries on Sunday in Jos, Alhaji Danjuma Musa, the Chairman, PDP Primaries Committee in Plateau, said Alams defeated seven opponents to win in Bokkos constituency.

He said also that Dem, on his part, defeated one contestant in the Riyom constituency of the State House of Assembly for next year’s elections.

Other members of the current Assembly, who were returned by the party’s primaries include, Mr Diket Plang, representing Pankshin North, and Mr Yakubu Choji, representing Jos North West Constituency.

The Assembly’s former Speaker, Istifanus Mwansat, representing Pankshin South, also defeated other aspirants to emerge as the party’s flagbearer, while Zainab Dogo, member representing Quan’Pan South, also scaled through.

Other successful aspirants were Mr Ezekiel Afon for Pengana Constituency, Ayuba Ashile for Irigwe Constituency, Nyam Dareng for Jos South, Peter Gyangdeng for Barkin Ladi, and Karim Jugul for Kanke.

Also nominated were Awal Haruna for Jos North, Mary Gar for Jos East, Ayuba Gutfan for Mangu North, Simon Bari for Mangu South and Vincent Bulus for Langtang South.

The rest are Godfrey Nantwe for Langtang North, Amos Kumtul for Langtang Central, Henry Langpoe for Shendam, Nanlong Daniel for Mikang and Daibu Dauda for Wase.

The Chairman of the Primaries Committee described the nominations as free and fair.

He however said the primary could not hold in Kanam Local Government Area due to the security situation in the area.

Musa announced that the primary would now take place on Monday, Dec. 1 by 9 a.m.

Meanwhile, Mr Raymond Dabo, the Acting Chairman of PDP in the state, said the primaries were peaceful and keenly-contested.

“In some constituencies, the winners won by just one vote. But there was no rancour or quarrel anywhere,’’ he said.

The acting chairman however commended the party members and the national officials for the smooth conduct of the primaries.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.