Just in: PDP reaps bountiful harvest as 15 Senators Abandon APC

Just in: PDP reaps bountiful harvest as 15 Senators Abandon APC

Tuesday, July 24, 2018 12:16 pm

Senate Chambers

The crises facing Nigeria’s ruling All Progressives Congress, APC reached its crescendo on Tuesday with the defection of 14 Senators elected on the platform of the party to the opposition People’s Democratic Party PDP.

Senate President Bukola Saraki whose residence was besieged early this morning police operatives announced the defection of the lawmakers in a joint letter he read from the lawmakers during plenary on Tuesday.

Citing Section 68(1G) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended), the defectors said “we hereby inform the Senate that we, the undersigned are changing our political affiliation from All Progressives Congress (APC) to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“We thank you for your exemplary leadership.”

They said that their action was after due consultation with their constituents and stakeholders in their constituencies.

Reacting to the development, Senate Leader, Sen. Ahmad Lawan, said “the APC, our party certainly has its own internal challenges.

“But, Mr President, we all know how much effort he and other stakeholders have put into addressing the issues that bedevil this party.

“The disagreements do not translate into factions. I therefore feel that our senators of the APC do not have to move to any other party.

“I also believe that because the issues are under serious discussions by the major stakeholders of this party, I will urge that the announcement be quarantined.

“Very seriously, this matter should be stepped down until we exhaust all the opportunities,” Lawan said.

In his remarks, Saraki said “as you know and have seen that the seat beside you is empty.

“As we speak, the Deputy Senate President cannot get out of his house.

“He is under siege. This morning, I could not also leave my street as well, all by efforts of some people that believe that today’s sitting must not hold because some members want to move or defect.

“It is not something that has started today; it will not end today; people have gone, they’ve come back.

“But this kind of action does not allow for what you are saying.

“You are speaking as the leader of the Senate, who has been here for many years.”

The 15th Senator whose defection was announced, Abdulazaz Nyako, had earlier indicated that he and his supporters in Adamawa State are defecting to ADC.

The names of the other senators who left the APC for the PDP are:-

Sen. Lanre Tejuoso
Sen. Shaaba Lafiagi
Sen. Barnabas Gemade
Sen. Dino Melaye.
Sen. Shittu
Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim
Sen. Shitu Ubali
Sen. Isa Misau
Sen. Sulaimon Hunkuyi
Sen. Monsurat Sunmonu
Sen. Mohammed Danbaba
Sen. Bayern Nafada
Sen. Suleiman Nazif
Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso


Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.