HOG Awards To Honour The 8th Senate, Saraki, Bruce, Sani

HOG Awards To Honour The 8th Senate, Saraki, Bruce, Sani

Thursday, June 7, 2018 3:35 pm

Senator Bukola Saraki:

The HoG Awards Board is set to honor the 8th Senate for exemplary legislative leadership in the country. The Chief Executive Officer of the Awards, Mr. Rupert Ojenuwain a statement released to journalists has said. The HoG Awards has as his Grand Custodian and Deputy Grand Custodian, Hon. Chief Alex Akinyelea former Honorable Minister and Prof Dupe Olatubosuna foremost Nigerian professor, respectively.

“Our Democracy is still very young and fragile. It is so fragile that you wonder if it will survive. This is why the Board of the HoG Awards has decided to look critically into the activities of the 8th Senate and having done so discovered that, in comparison, the 8th Senate under Sen. Sarakihas done creditably well.

Ben Bruce

Any nation whose Senate or Parliament as the case may be is harnessed by the central government has lost separation of power and it’s democracy won’t survive. This is why we have chosen to honorBukolaSaraki and the 8th Senate. It is mind blowing when you consider the number of bills and motion passed in just 3 years. The Senate President has continued to show that the nation and its democracy come first. If you look at the perceived relationship the Senate President has with the Federal Government especially with the trials that greeted his assumption as Senate President, one would have imagined that all hell would be released on the presidency with everyday impeachment proceedings activated but that wasn’t the case. SARAKI managed that extremely well and focused on the job of promoting our democracy. You find that on several occasions you find him looking ruling Senators out of order or dousing tension whenever the President is mentioned in a bad light.Instead of going personal, he has weighed in on critical national matters.

Shehu Sani

The 8th Senate has uncovered several corrupt practises and have taken its oversight function out of the status quo and that is why we chose to honor the Senate President with the Man of the Year Award. Other Senators to be honored are Senator Ben Bruce and Shehu Sani. These Senators have distinguished themselves. They have learnt their voice persistently on motions and bills especially those affecting the common man and promoting national cohesion. They have continued to engage Nigerians on critical national issues. At one time one of them had to use his belt as a maze in order to save the nation’s democracy.

I personally commend the 8th Senate for their comportment during the infamous Senate Invasion. Nigerians who saw that video footage wondered aloud. There was no going physical with the assailants like we used to see. Instead, they all maintained their calm and with the help of Shehu’s belt, legislative business continued. That was a defining moment and all Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria should be applauded for their maturity and dedication to duty. One would have thought they would all go home after a traumatic event but they stayed back and did the job for which they were elected..” We therefore wish to use this opportunity to celebrate the 8th Senate for that moment and their contributions to deepening democracy in our nation and also supporting the President anti corruption war by exposing corrupt elements themselves.. , the statement read.

National Assembly, Abuja, Nigeria.

The HoG Awards holds on the 24th of June in Ikeja Lagos. You will recall that the HoG Awards has since inception honored very notable Nigerians like Vice President AtikuAbubakar, Dr.Aliko Dangote, Dr.AkinwunmiAdeshina, OoniOba EnitanOgunwusi, BabatunedRajiFashola, OtunbaGbenga Daniel, Dr.Abdulfatah Ahmed, Captain Idris Wada and other notable Nigerians

The CEO can be reached through [email protected], [email protected], www.hogmedia.com.ng

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.