PDP reigns in declared results for Rivers rerun

PDP reigns in declared results for Rivers rerun

Wednesday, March 30, 2016 6:16 am

The Peoples Democratic Party has won more seats in the national and state legislative rerun elections, according to the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday night.

INEC  Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Aniedi Ikoiwak said PDP candidates  won Port Harcourt Federal constituencies 1 and 2 and that of Obio/Akpor in the violent 19 March elections.

In  Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 1, Kenneth Anayo Chikere of the PDP , got 18, 904 votes to defeat his APC rival, Igo Aguma, who polled 6, 035 votes.

In Port Harcourt Constituency 2, PDP’s  Mrs. Blessing Nsiegbe, polled 6, 968 votes to defeat Collins A. N. Owhondah of the APC, who got 3,154 votes.

Adoki Tonye Smart of the PDP was also declared the winner of  Port Harcourt state constituency 2.

PDP’s candidate for Obio/Akpor state constituency, Kingsley Chinda, polled  27, 895 votes to defeat his closest rival, Tony Okocha, of the APC, who polled 9, 514 votes.

However,  All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Benibo Fredrick Anabraba, was declared winner of Akuku-Toru state Constituency 2. His PDP opponent was disqualified.

So far,  the PDP has won four Federal and eight state constituency seats in the rerun; APC has won two of the state constituency seats.

Ikoiwak said the decision to announce the results was reached last Wednesday at the Abuja meeting of the electoral umpire.

The REC said other constituencies, which had conclusive elections  but with their results yet to be announced, were being investigated.They would be released the moment investigations into their conducts were concluded, he said.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.