RSS Arrests 15 cultists In Lagos

RSS Arrests 15 cultists In Lagos

Thursday, February 18, 2016 8:58 pm

The cultists

The cultists

Kazeem Ugbodaga

Operatives of the Rapid Response Squad (RRS) of the State Police Command, in the wee-hours of Thursday, apprehended 15 members of the notorious cult group known as Awawa Confraternity.

The cultist group has been terrorising innocent residents of Agege and its environs in Lagos, Southwest Nigeria.

The police team, led by Olabode Aroge, swooped on them with seven response vehicles, picked up the dreaded group members at different locations of their jurisdictions around Agege axis.

The policemen responded to the tip-off from incessant complaints of the residents, alleging that some group of young boys were making lives difficult and disrupting the peaceful atmosphere in the area.

“Upon incessant complaints from members of the public, most especially residents of the area, which was further confirmed by preliminary investigations conducted by the Police, our men immediately busted the area and its environs, with seven response vehicles where suspects were apprehended,” he said.

A resident of the area who craved anonymity, said members of the confraternity were so dangerous and feared by all residents in the area.

He revealed that Awawa Confraternity Group members committed all sorts of nefarious activities, including raping, robbing and looting of people’s properties around the metropolis.

While confirming the arrest, Police Public Relations Officer, (PPRO), Dolapo Badmus, warned parents and guardians to be watchful of their wards and children’s behaviours while at their tender age as charity begins at home.

She added that residents should be courageous enough to report any suspicious movement and criminalities in their neighbourhood to the police, promising that the Police would act accordingly and timely.

The suspects arrested are: Onyekaba Israel, Olatunde Babalola, Innocent Afamuzoka, Ugochukwu Okafor, Sule David, Kabiru Dahiru, Ibrahim Muafu, Tasiru Suraju, Mustapha Ibrahim, Lawal Ibrahim, Yahaya Yusuf, Tochukwu Ede, Lawal Adamu, Chibuwane Nweke and Amaechi Amaga.

The suspects have been handed over to Lagos State Environmental Task Force, Alausa for prosecution

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.