Glo-CAF awards live on Supersport, AIT

Glo-CAF awards live on Supersport, AIT

Thursday, January 7, 2016 10:43 am


Nigerian goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama (L) congratulates Ivorian skipper Yaya Toure after winning the CAF African Footballer of the Year Award in Lagos on January 8, 2015.

*Ex-Nigerian goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama (L) congratulating  Ivorian skipper Yaya Toure after winning the CAF African Footballer of the Year Award in Lagos on January 8, 2015.

Football lovers across the world  will watch the glamorous 2015 Glo-CAF Awards live on their television sets. The award gala takes place Thursday evening in Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria.

The event sponsor and next generation network, Globacom, said arrangements had been concluded for television stations such as African Independent Television (AIT), SuperSport, Canal 2 and Sport 5 to broadcast the awards live from the venue, the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

Globacom said the live broadcast would enable people all over the world to watch how Africa honours its illustrious sons and daughters who have distinguished themselves either as players or administrators in the last one year.

“We recognize that not everyone would be able to attend the show. The live broadcast will, therefore, enable those who are not at the venue to watch the show from the comfort of their homes or offices. We want Africans and other football lovers to be able to share this glorious moment with us. The event will start at 6 p.m., while the live telecast will commence on the mentioned stations from 9pm to 11 p.m Central Africa Time.”, the company explained.

Already, the Federal Capital Territory is abuzz with excitement as top football celebrities led by the the acting President of FIFA and President of Confederation of African Football, Alhaji Isa Hayatou, as well as leading entertainers scheduled to perform at the show have arrived in the city.

The top entertainers who are already in Abuja include Malian sensation, Salif Keita, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, a South African male choral group, Awilo Longomba, Charles Nii Armah Mensah Jnr,  Ahmed Soultan, D’banj,  Korede Bello, Di’ja, alternative soul singer, Bez, Omawumi,  Ego and King Sunny Ade. All of these top musicians cum entertainers are also Globacom Ambassadors.

A major highlight of the evening will be the crowning of African Footballer of the Year. The three players in contention are Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon & Borrussia Dortmund of Germany, four-time African Player of the Year, Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City, and Andrew Ayew of Ghana and Swansea City FC.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.