Boko Haram: Jonathan in U-turn, sets up victims support fund

Boko Haram: Jonathan in U-turn, sets up victims support fund

Tuesday, July 15, 2014 7:36 am

Ayorinde Oluokun/Abuja

Nigeria’s  Federal Government on Monday announced the constitution of a Committee on Victims Support Fund “to mobilise resources and administer appropriate support to victims of insurgency and Boko Haram terror activities all over the country.”

The announcement completes a policy somersault by President Goodluck Jonathan on the need to compensate victims of the five year old insurgency.

Last year November, President Jonathan was widely reported to have said his government would not pay compensation to the victims of Boko Haram, a gesture costing hard-hit  Borno and Yobe state governments billions of naira.

Boko Haram refugees in Cameroon

Boko Haram refugees in Cameroon

The President spoke then on 5 November, when the Presidential Committee on Dialogue and Peaceful Resolution of Security Challenges in the North submitted its report.


However,  Jonathan days later said he was misunderstood after being hit by a barrage of criticisms, even by his closest ally, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor. He said he opposed the ‘word compensation’ and that a committee would be set up to advise on the level of support government would give Boko Haram victims.

We may not be able to compensate them adequately but we are going to assist them in ensuring that they pick the bits and pieces of their lives again. “Jonathan said at an event in Warri, Delta state on 11 November 2013.

It was  at the 44th anniversary of Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor’s establishment of his ministry and the 26th Jubilee Word Festival 2013 of Word of Life Bible Church, where the President engaged in this semantics clarification.

It has taken the president eight months to set up the committee, to be headed by one of Nigeria’s richest men, General T.Y. Danjuma.

In a statement issued in Abuja yesterday, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim,  unveiled the composition and appointment of members of the Committee on Victims Support Funds as approved by Jonathan:

(i) ​Gen. TY Danjuma, GCON​​​​-​Chairman

(ii) ​Mr. Fola Adeola​​​​​​-​Deputy Chairman

​(iii) ​Alh. Mohammed Indimi​​​​​-​Member

​(iv) ​Alh. Abdulsamad I. Rabiu​​​​-​Member

​(v)​ Alh. Sani Dauda​​​​​​-​Member

​(vi)​ Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija​​​​​-​Member

​(vii)​ Mr. Cosmas Maduka​​​​​-​Member

​(viii) ​Mr. Jim Ovia​​​​​​-​Member

​(ix) ​Mr. Wale Tinubu​​​​​-​Member

​(x) ​Alh. Sani Sidi, DG, National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)​​​​​​-​Member

​(xi) ​Air Vice Marshal Tony Omenyi (Representing Defence Headquarters)​​​​​-​Member

(xii)​ CP Salisu Fagge, representing Nigerian Police Force​-​Member

​(xiii)​ Mr. Sayana Yusuf, representing Department of State Services​​​​​​-​Member

​(xiv)​ Chief Uche Secondus, PDP Deputy National Chairman (South)​​​​​-​Member

​(xv) ​Alh. Tijani Tunsah, APC Deputy National Chairman (North)​​​​​-​Member

​(xvi) ​Representative of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) –​Member

​(xvii) ​Representative of Jamaatul Nasril Islam (JNI)​​-​Member

​(xviii) ​Chief (Mrs.) Nkechi Mba, Representing National Council of Women Societies​​​​-​Member

(xix) ​Prof. Ben Angwe, Executive Secretary, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)​​​​-​Member

​(xx)​ Representative of the United Nations (UN)​​-​Member

​(xxi) ​Representative of Department for International Development (DFID)​​​​​-​Member

​(xxii) ​Representative of Unites States Agency for International Development (USAID)​​​​​-​Member

​(xxiii) ​Representative of International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)​​​​​​-​Member

​(xxiv) ​Alh. Balarabe Musa, Representing Conference of Nigerian Political Parties (CNPP)​​​​-​Member

​(xxv) ​Two (2) Representatives of Local Civil society/Youth Groups (Male & Female)​​​​​-​Members.

(xxvi) ​Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF)​​​​​-​Secretariat


(i)​To identify sources and ways of raising sustainable funding to support victims of Boko Haram terror activities;

​(ii)​To develop appropriate strategies for the fund raising;

(iii)​To ascertain the persons, communities, facilities and economic assets affected by Boko Haram terror activities;

​(iv) ​To assess and determine the appropriate support required in each case;

​(v) ​To manage, disburse or administer support to the victims as appropriate;

​(vi) ​To address related challenges as may be appropriate; and

(vii) ​To advise Government on other matter(s) necessary or incidental to support victims of Boko Haram terror activities.

The Committee will be inaugurated by  President Jonathan on Wednesday.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.