Just In: Ibrahim Gusau elected President of NFF

Just In: Ibrahim Gusau elected President of NFF

Friday, September 30, 2022 6:21 pm

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa: Gusau has been elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF),

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa: Gusau has been elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF),

By Jethro Ibileke

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau was on Friday elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) at the 78th General Assembly and elective Congress of the Federation held at the Edo Heritage Hotel in Benin City.

He succeeds Amaju Melvin Pinnick who led the NFF for eight years of two tenures.

Gusau who is Chairman of Zamfara State Football Association polled 21 votes to win the highly contested number one office of the Nigeria Football Governing body.

The former Chairman of Chairmen of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), will head the NFF Board for a period of four years as President.

The election eventually held peacefully after days and weeks of uncertainty a and suspense at the 78th Annual General Assembly of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in Benin, following a ruling by the Court of Appeal which ordered a stay of execution of an ex parte injunction secured by some fellows a fortnight ago to put a wedge on the election.

Amongst the 10 individuals who jostled to succeed Pinnick as Nigeria football’s supremo are current vice presidents, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi (1st VP) and Mallam Shehu Dikko (2nd VP), as well as the current Executive Committee Member, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

Also in the race for the NFF top job are the immediate past General Secretary, Barr. Musa Amadu, and Head of Safety and Security of the CAF, Dr. Christian Emeruwa.

Chairman of the FCT Football Association, Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed; former Nigeria international goalkeeper, Peterside Idah; former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and respected technocrat, Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola and; UK-based David-Buhari Doherty complete the list of 10 contestants who vied for the post.

A former NFF 1st Vice President, Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, pulled out of the race during the week, citing ‘not wanting to run foul of the ex parte injunction’ for his withdrawal.

Mr. Paul Yusuf from Plateau State was disqualified as a result of invalid nomination just as Mr. Marcellinus Anyanwu from Imo State was similarly booted out of the race. Yusuf, a former Bendel Insurance goalkeeper has promised to fight his disqualification to any length to get justice.

Three persons, viz current Member of Board, Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu; current Member of Board, Senator Obinna Ogba and; Mr Chinedu Okoye were battling for the post of 1st Vice President as at the time of filing this report.

Current Member of Board, Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed ‘Fresh’ will replace Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau as Chairman of Chairmen, as he was the only one who obtained the form, and has been cleared for the position as unopposed.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.