Ekiti Assembly confirms ex-Labour Party chairman, 7 others as commissioners

Ekiti Assembly confirms ex-Labour Party chairman, 7 others as commissioners

Tuesday, August 25, 2020 10:45 pm

Ekiti House of Assembly building

The unanimous confirmation took place during Tuesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Mr Funmiyi Afuye.

Also confirmed were Chief Oladiran Adesua (Ekiti East), Mr Akintunde Oyebode (Ikole), Dr Olabimpe Aderiye, (Ido/Osi), Alhaja Maryam Ogunlade (Emure) and Dr Oyebanji Filani (Ikole), Olabode Adetoyi (Moba) and Mrs Iyabo Fakunle-Okhieme (Ilejemeje).

During the screening, the Deputy Speaker, Hakeem Jamiu and and another lawmaker, Adeyemi Ajibade, had asked Adetoyi, being agricultural entrepreneur and expert, how he intended to transform the state from being agrarian to a viable commercial agricultural state.

The lawmakers hinged their questions on the need to promote food security during post COVID-19 era.

Adetoyi said: ’’ If the governor assigns the Ministry of Agriculture to me, I will ensure supervision of agricultural activities from the point of production to marketing to encourage commercial agriculture and attract investors to the state.

“The country and Ekiti in particular can make her agricultural sector the main source of developing her economy,” he said.

The House also confirmed Mr Febisola Adewale as Commissioner, Ekiti Local Government Service Commission and Prof. Femi Akinwumi as Chairman, Ekiti Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

The House at its Tuesday’s plenary also approved the request of Gov. Kayode Fayemi to appoint seven Special Advisers.

The motion for the approval was moved by the Majority Leader, Chief Gboyega Aribisogan, and seconded by Mr Deji Ajayi (APC-Use/Orun Constituency).

The House adjourned plenary till Thursday.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.