Defections: APC harvests PDP, APGA members in Nasarawa

Mr Abdullahi Sule, Nasarawa State governor

It was a big harvest for the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC in Nasarawa on Sunday as over 1,000 members of key opposition parties defected into its fold.

The defecting politicians were mostly the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and other political parties.

The defectors included former elected councillors as well as PDP ward chairmen and secretaries, the News Agency of Nigeria reports.

Mr. Bala John, who spoke on behalf of the defectors, said they have decided to join APC due to the developmental stride of the party at both state and national levels.

He expressed gratitude to President Muhammadu Buhari for constructing road in the community.

“Wakama community is the only community in the state that the federal government is currently constructing over 6kms of road.

He therefore pledged their unalloyed support to the APC government at all levels and appealed to them to site more development projects in the area.

Receiving the defectors at a formal ceremony on Sunday at Wakama, the state APC Treasurer, Mr Mohammed Aya, said the party was encouraged with their decision to join the ruling party.

The treasurer who represented Mr Philip Shakwo, the APC State Chairman, assured the new comers that they have equal rights and privileges like the old members.

He therefore assured that the government would site projects that would impact on the lives of the people of the community to justify the action of the defectors.

Similarly, Mr Silas Agara, the immediate past deputy governor of the state, said that now that the people of the community decided to join the party in government, more development would come to the area.

He noted that it is only the government that is capable of bringing development hence the need for them to join the government if they are in politics for development.

The occasion was attended by members of the state Hhouse of Assembly, Chairmen of local government councils and other stakeholders.