Fayemi forwards names of 14 commissioners, 5 LGSC nominees to EKHA

Governor Fayemi of Ekiti State

Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi has forwarded the names of 14 commissioner nominees to the House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The nominees include: Dr Adio Folayan (Efon), Dr Moji Kolade,(Oye), Moji Fafunre (Ikole), Messrs Emmanuel Daramola, Olabode Folorunsho, (Ilejemeje) Bamidele Faparusi,(Gbonyin), Gbenga Agbeyo, (Ido-Osi) Olusola Davies and Sola Adebayo, (Irepodun/Ifelodun).

The rest are Michael Awopetu (Ekiti Southwest), Mr Muyiwa Olumilua, (Ikere) Mr Femi Ajayi, (Ise/Orun) Alh., Ayodele Jinadu, (Ado) and Mrs Febisola Adewale, (Emure)

This is contained in a letter sent to the Assembly and read by the Speaker, Mr Adeniran Alagbada during the Tuesday’s plenary in Ado-Ekiti.

The speaker also read another letter from the governor for the nomination of the Chairman and members of the Local Government Service Commission, (EKSLGSC).

They are Chief S.A Abejide as Chairman, Mr Abiola Adeosun, Mr Dele Oloje, Mrs Bisi Dada and Alhaja Marian Ogunlade as members.

Alagbada equally announced during the plenary that the commissioner designates and members of Local Government Service Commission were to report at the Assembly on Thursday, April 4 for legislative scrutiny.

In a related development, the assembly passed the Ekiti State Trust Fund Law,(Amendment) Bill, 2019 after it was unanimously debated by members.

Contributing members including Chief Gboyega Aribisogan and Mrs Cecilia Dada were of the view that the bill would improve security in the state, calling for its speedy passage.

Also members debated on the report of an Ad-hoc Investigative Committee set up to look into circumstances surrounding the passage of the 2018 Revised Budget of N10 billion.

Speaking on the matter, Chief Gboyega Aribisogan, (Ikole 1) and Mr Fajana Ojo-Ade, (Ekiti East) suggested that the Economic and Financial Crime Commission, (EFCC) and other security agents be invited to investigate the illegality of the action of the suspended members.

The House, which also described the action of the purported passage of the supplementary budget as illegal, also extended the suspension of the members involved by 30 days.

NAN recalls that members, who were alleged to have participated in the passage of the N10 billion supplementary budget were suspended on Oct.12, 2018 by 125 days.

NAN also reports that the report of the committee on Public Petition on the allegation of wrongful dismissal of one Adewale Fagoyibo was submitted by its chairman, Mr Fajana Ojo-Ade, which was later unanimously adopted through resolution.

The Assembly, thereafter, adjourned plenary to April 3.