Nasarawa Assembly: PDP wins Akwanga South, APC takes North

APC, PDP: The two major parties

Mr Jacob Tsebe, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of Akwanga South Constituency in Saturday’s governorship and state House of Assembly polls.

Dr Gaga Agom,  the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer, announced the result on Sunday.

Ago said Tsebe of the PDP polled 9176 votes to defeat incumbent, Mr Kassim Mohammed-Kassim of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 8120.

But Mr Dandaura Nehemiah of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won in Akwanga North Constituency.

Prof. Dauda Enna, the INEC Returning Officer for the polls, declared Nehemiah winner after collation of votes cast in the constituency.

He said Nehemiah polled 19,795 votes in Akwanga North to defeat Jonathan Shuki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 13,685.