NSF 2018: Delta wins 6 gold, Bayelsa 3 silver in swimming Day One

NSF 2018: Delta wins 6 gold, Bayelsa 3 silver in swimming Day One

Sunday, December 9, 2018 8:06 am

Mr Solomon Dalung: Minister of Sports

The Delta Team to the 19th National Sports Festival (NSF) in Abuja on Saturday won six gold medals while Balyesa clinched three silver medals in Day One of swimming competition.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Detla dominated the swimming event putting other states behind in the ongoing fiesta.
In event 1: 100m Freestyle Women, Deborah Opochini from Delta returned a time 1:03.05 to take first position and claim the gold medal.
Gagbe Ifiezibe from Bayelsa had a time of 1:03.62 for the silver medal, while Victoria Ajakaiye from Edo took the bronze with a time of 1:05.39.
In the second event, the 100m Breaststroke Men: Foresight Osamezu from Delta returned 1:11.36 for the gold medal, while Ilesanmi Abayomi from Kano had 1:11:81 to take the silver, and Smart Olopele from Lagos returned 1:12.19 for the bronze.
In event 3: 200m Butterfly Women: Oyindafefa Ndakwe of Delta clinched the third gold medal for the state with time of 2:46.28, and Bobo Indiamere from Bayelsa had 3:02.42 for the silver, while Ibukun Adamolekun from Oyo State returned 3:04.43 for bronze.
In event 4: 200m Freestyle Men: Nmor Ifeakachukwu returned 2:06.50 for Delta’s fourth gold, while Yellow Yeiyah from Kano had 2:06.91 for the state’s second silver and Dino Ebarakumo from Rivers took the bronze with 2:07.56.
In Event 5: 50m Backstroke Women: Timipamere Akiayefa of Delta won Delta’s fifth gold medal, while Bodo Indiamere of Bayelsa returned 35:66 for the his state’s third silver and Mercy Olopele of Lagos took the bronze with 35: 80.
In event 6: 50m Backstroke Men: Dino Ebarakimo of Rivers returned 29:61 for the state’s first gold medal and Leon Osayiowie of Edo had 30:66 for the his state’s first silver, while Sadiq Yahaya of Kano took the bronze with 30:94.
In event 7: 4x200m Freestyle Women: Team Delta clinched the gold medal with 9:49.63 and Team Bayelsa with 10:29.12 took the silver, while Team Lagos with 11:19.66 took the bronze and Team Ondo took the fourth position.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.