Flood Disaster: Gov Sani-Bello Inaugurates 9- Man Committee on Resettlement and Disbursement of Relief Materials

Governor Sani Bello

Niger State Governor Alhaji Abubakar Sani-Bello has inaugurated a 9- man committee to verify communities and persons affected by flood in the State.

The Governor stated that the aim of setting up the committee was to interface with the water management agencies and make recommendations on communities that need resettlement.

He therefore charged the committee to be dedicated, trustworthy and be on their toes while discharging their responsibilities.

He also stressed the need for the members to involve the three dam management and relevant stakeholders to avert further reoccurrence.

Governor Sani-Bello further urged the committee to interact with all relevant stakeholders to ensure that the victims are resettled within the shortest possible time.

Meanwhile, the committee is expected to distribute relief materials and cash donated by government, individuals and corporate organizations to the flood victims.

While the Deputy Governor, Alhaji Ahmed Mohammed Ketso is the Chairman, Secretary to the State Government, Hon Ibrahim Isa Ladan is the secretary.

Other members of the committee include Director General, Niger State Emergency Management Agency, NSEMA, Alhaji Ahmed Ibrahim Inga, Alhaji Mohammed Abdullahi Adamu ,Hon. Ibrahim Ebbo, Mr Paul Tsado Tswanya,Amb. Muhammad Haruna Manta, Mr Samuel Umar and Dr. Jibrin K Saba.