2019: PDP zones Nasarawa governorship to North Senatorial District


The Nasarawa State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has zoned its governorship ticket for the 2019 general election to the North Senatorial District.

The district, which has never produced a governor since the state was created, comprises four local governments – Akwanga, Nasarawa, Eggon and Wamba –

Mr Francis Orogu, its Chairman, announced the party’s decision on Saturday in Lafia, after an expanded elders and state executive caucus meeting held at the state secretariat.

Orogu said that the decision was reached by all organs of the party “in the spirit of peace, unity, moral consciousness and political perfection”.

According to him, the zoning of the governorship ticket is in line with chapter 5, section 35(1 c) of the PDP constitution.

He said that the party was working out modalities with stakeholders toward zoning other positions to other senatorial zones “ to ensure justice and fairness”.

Meanwhile, the immediate past Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in the state, Mr. Innocent Lagi, has defected to the PDP from the Labour Party.

Lagi, who was officially received into the party at the meeting, said that his decision was borne out of a deep conviction that the state needed a change of leadership.

“I was an Attorney-General under the All Progressive Congress-led administration and would have easily joined them from the Labour Party, but I am a principled persons and my ideals are opposed to the kind of objectives being pursued by APC in Nasarawa State,” Lagi said.

He said that the PDP was a reflection of Nigeria and was better positioned to effect the change desired by Nigerians.

“PDP is more organised, accommodating and united; it is in a better position to unite Nigerians toward prosperity,” he said.