Editors conduct elections

Editors conduct elections

Saturday, April 29, 2017 12:37 pm

Governor Ambode, left, declared the editors’ convention open

The Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) is currently holding its Biennial Convention in Ikeja, the Lagos State Capital.

The Convention, which started on April 28-30, 2017, is taking place at the Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos State. The theme of the convention is: A Nation in Recession: Whither the Nigerian Media? It is chaired by Malam Kabiru Yusuf, Chairman, Daily Trust Newspapers limited.

The Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, who is the Chief Host, delivered an address and declared the Convention open. A quintessential communication expert and political lobbyist, Mr. Emma Agu, presented a paper on the theme of the Convention.

The Biennial Convention, one of the largest gatherings of Nigerian Editors brings together over 300 editors and other media professionals. The forum will produce a new executive, led by a new President to oversee the affairs of the Guild in the next two years.

The tenure of the current executive, led by Mrs. Funke Egbemode, Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of New Telegraph newspapers, began with Mr. Femi Adesina in 2015 and was truncated when he was appointed Special Adviser to President Muhammad Buhari, a few weeks after election. Adesina handed over to Malam Garba Deen Muhammad who was the Deputy President, and his position was ratified during the 11thANEC in Yenagoa, Bayelsa state. A few months after the mantle of leadership changed hands, Malam Muhammad was appointed Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division of NNPC. Again, power shifted to Mrs. Egbemode who was then the Vice-President (West), and her new position was ratified during the 12th ANEC in Port Harcourt, Rivers state, in 2016.

To facilitate the election process, the Guild appointed a highly respected veteran journalist and author, Mr. Ray Ekpu, as the Chairman of a five-member Electoral Committee to conduct the process. He is to be supported by other top-notch journalists of proven integrity. This will happen during the afternoon session.

Election Results

Mrs Funke Egbemode, Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief, New Telegraph Newspaper, later on Saturday, was re-elected as the President of the Guild. She won her position unopposed. Others who were returned in similar fashion are: Mr Frederick Fabor, Vice President, East; Hajiya Sani Vice President North and Mrs Victoria Ibanga as the General Secretary.

Mr Suleiman Gaya was elected as the Deputy President; Mustapha Isah, Vice President, West; Mr Ray Echebiri, Treasurer and Mrs Mary Atologbe, Assistant secretary. Mr Ibrahim Mammaga of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) and his Leadership Newspaper counterpart, Mrs Catherine Agbo emerged as the Standing Committee members for the north. Mr Steve Nwosu, Steve Osuji and Austin Elewodalu were elected as Standing Committee members for the West and Mrs Juliet Njiowhor and Mr Ikpong Udom won as Standing Comiitee members for the East.

Egbemode said she would work hard to effect positive changes in the Guild in two years. “ I regard this election as an investment and I will ensure that this confidence is treated with respect. I am truly humbled, lucky because of the numbers of editors that decided that one person is good and nobody should run against me.”

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, represented by Mr Bayo Onanuga, Managing Director, News Agency of Nigeria, addressed the editors early on the day, as part of the historic event.

As part of activities lined up for the Convention, officials of Trust Fund Pensions Limited made a 10-minute presentation. The topic is: Pension Fund for Editors: Managing your tomorrow today, during the business session on April 29, 2017.

A gala night/dinner was held in the evening of Saturday, April 29 at 7:00pm during which new members of the Guild were inducted. Delegates are expected to depart on Sunday, April 30, 2017.

More to follow…

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.