MTV Base lists Mr Eazi, Terry Apala among artistes to stand out in 2017

MTV Base lists Mr Eazi, Terry Apala among artistes to stand out in 2017

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:20 pm

Mr Eazi

The Music Television (MTV) Base, on Wednesday, released hand-picked list of artistes across the African continent, who are expected to make it big in the music scene in 2017.

This disclosure is contained in a release made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Lagos and signed by Anita Ayidu, Public Relations Officer of Black House Media (BHM).

Monde Twala, the Vice President of BET, Youth and Music, Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa, said that it was the annual list of artistes, who could hopefully make a positive impact.

“They are the “ones to watch” and it is our belief that they will do great things this 2017 year.

“It is awesome how the artistes on the 2016 list performed, how much the support we provided has helped the artistes build their careers both locally and internationally,’’ he said.

Twala noted that the list was compiled by the MTV Base music and talent experts from across the continent.

“They are the list of 55 established and up-and-coming artistes based on the channels assessment of various artistes.

“Their current and future potential include, sales performances, popularity buzz, radio and video airplay, style and other intangible factors,’’ he said.

The vice president, however, said that MTV Base would support the “ones to watch’’ artistes as much as possible throughout 2017.

“We will do this through building their profiles via on air and online exposure, play-listing their repertoire, supporting key video releases and involving them in MTV Base events and gigs,” he said.

NAN reports that MTV Base on DSTV channel 322, plays its picked list of the “ones to watch for 2017’’.

The hand-picked selection of artistes expected to make it big on the music scene in the 2017 MTV Base;

“Ones to Watch” 2017 are: Edmasia-Angola; Nero Americano-Angola; Locko-Cameroon; Minks-Cameroon; Ezi Emela-England/Nigeria;

Others are: Hiro-France/DRC; Boboh-Ghana; Capasta-Ghana; Eugy-Ghana, Teephlow-Ghana; Triggmatic-Ghana; Wondaboy-Ghana; Band BeCa-Kenya and Everlast-Kenya.

The list includes, Kalighaph Jones-Kenya; Timmy Dat-Kenya; Videz and Shiv-Kenya; Willy Paul-Kenya and Filomena Maricoa.

It includes: Mozambique; LayLizzy-Mozambique; Dremo-Nigeria; Grey C-Nigeria; Jilex Anderson-Nigeria; Lola Rae-Nigeria; Mayorkun-Nigeria; Mr Easi-Nigeria, Ric Hassani-Nigeria, Terry Apala-Nigeria; Wale Turner-Nigeria.

Also considered are, Wurld-Nigeria/USA; Amanda Black-SA; A Reece-SA; Bhizer-SA; Distruction Boyz-SA; Dj Fortee-SA; Dj Mdix-SA; Easy freak-SA; Frank casino-SA; Gemini Major-SA; King Monada-SA; Kly-SA and Nadia Nakai-SA.

Others are: Sjava-SA; Tellaman-SA; Tshego-SA; Yung Swiss-SA; Apple Gule-Swaziland/SA; Ben Pol-Tanzania, Billnas-Tanzania, Harmonize-Tanzania; Rayvann-Tanazania; Ruby-Tanzania; Ceaserous-Uganda; Lydia Jasmine-Uganda; Ykee Benda-Uganda. (NAN)

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.