Rivers inaugurates committee to mop up arms from cultists, militants

Rivers inaugurates committee to mop up arms from cultists, militants

Friday, September 16, 2016 9:19 pm




Okafor Ofiebor/Port Harcourt

Rivers State Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike on Friday  inaugurated the State Amnesty Programme Committee.

The committee has as members representatives  of the Nigerian Armed Forces, the Nigerian Police and the Department of State Services. The Special Adviser to the Governor on Amnesty,  Sir  Ken Chinda  is chairman.

In his inauguration speech,  Governor Wike  charged the committee  to interface with different cult groups for the purpose of  retrieving arms from them.

The governor also charged the committee to work out modalities  to ensure the proper integration  of cultists  and  militants  who willingly  subscribe  to  the amnesty  programme.

He warned the committee members  against promising repentant  cultists and militants  that the state government  will  pay for arms surrendered  in the course of  the  programme.

He declared: “Anyone who  has surrendered  his arms and has followed  through the process laid out for the amnesty will be pardoned. Such a person  will not be prosecuted.

“This committee has 60days to complete its assignment.  After the 60days, any cultist or militant who fails to subscribe  to  the  amnesty programme  will face the  full weight of the law”.

The Governor  reiterated  that  the  amnesty programme  is not politically motivated,  pointing  out  that  it was designed to promote the security of all communities  in the state.

Responding on behalf of the committee members,  Chairman of the Committee,  Mr Ken Chinda assured the governor  that members  of  the  will work  in line with  the  terms of  reference outlined.

The members of the committee are: Sir Ken Chinda Special Adviser  (Amnesty)- Chairman, Lt Col.  Timothy Opurum- Nigerian Army- Member, Flt Lt Gabriel Folorunso Ayeyemi – Nigerian Airforce.

, Lt Cdr Segun Adebajo – Nigerian Navy – member, Mr Daniel Uzor – DSS – member, ACP Imo Sam Orok – Nigerian Police – member and  Dr. George Nweke – Permanent Secretary,  Special Services Bureau – Secretary.

Also,Governor  Wike has approved the constitution of the State Advisory Committee on the Prerogative of Mercy as follows: Honourable Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice as Chairman.

Others are Professor Israel N. E. Worugji. Dr. Bob Yellow and Venerable Alex Usifo, Dr Mrs.  Ngozi Ordu,Professor  John Ikimalo , Glory Chukwu,Alu Long- John, and Director of Public Prosecutions, Rivers State  (secretary)

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.