Ajetunmobi crushes Onaolapo for Aso Table Tennis championship

Ajetunmobi crushes Onaolapo for Aso Table Tennis championship

Sunday, May 8, 2016 8:20 am

Seun Ajetunmobi: crushes Onaolapo for the men's championship

Seun Ajetunmobi: crushes Onaolapo for the men’s championship

Nigeria’s star tennis players representing Taraba and Ekiti states on Saturday emerged champions of the Men and Women’s Singles at the 2016 Aso Table Tennis National Championship.

The four-day tournament at the Abuja National Stadium saw Seun Ajetunmobi of Taraba crushing Onaolapo Ojo of Ondo 4-0 in the Men’s Singles to become champion. He won a cash award of N200,000.

Onaolapo Ojo took the second prize of N100,000 while Olajide Omotayo and Makanjuola Kazeem both of Taraba came third and fourth with a cash of N50,000 and N45,000 respectively.

In the Women’s Singles, Esther Oribamishe of Ekiti defeated Bose Odusanya of Lagos state 4-0 to become champion with a cash of N200, 000.

Odusanya came second with a cash of N100,000 while Fatima Kazeem of Rivers state and Toyin Jimoh came third and fourth with a cash of N50,000 and N45,000.

In the Junior Boys singles, Amadi Omeh of Ondo defeated Olayinka Oladipupo of Rivers state 4-2 to become the winner with a cash of award of N50,000 and N30,000 respectively.

For the Junior Girls singles, Esther Oribamishe of Ekiti state defeated Nimota Aregbesola of Lagos state 4-2 to win the title with cash prize of N50, 000 and N30, 000 respectively.

The Cadet Girls was an all Kwara affairs as the state won all the prizes with Iyanuoluwa Falana defeating Sukurat Aiyelabegan 4-2 to win the first prize of N40,000.

The veterans were not left out as Onyeka Ogbu defeated Olu Akerele 3-2 to win a water dispenser.

Declaring the 12 edition of the championship closed, the Chairman, Aso Table Tennis Club, Dr Olusegun Ajuwon said the tournament was to develop young players that would fly the country’s flag.

Ajuwon said that 100 dollars was added to each of the champions in various categories to encourage them do more in the next tournament.

“Since we did not have more sponsors this year, we had to maintain the prize money for last year, but with an addition of a 100 dollars for the champions across board,’’ he said.

Ajetunmobi, winner of the Men’s Single thanked God for the victory, adding that he won because he was able to study the play pattern of his opponent.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.