Sokoto inaugurates election tribunals

Sokoto inaugurates election tribunals

Thursday, April 14, 2016 1:26 pm

Justice Aishatu Dahiru

Justice Aishatu Dahiru

The Chief Judge of Sokoto State, Justice Aishatu Dahiru on Thursday inaugurated three Local Government Election Petition Tribunals on the local council elections held in the state on March 12, 2016.

Each of the tribunals, has a magistrate as chairman with two other members.

The CJ said that the tribunals were set up in line with the provisions of the State’s Local Governments Law, 2009 as amended in 2016.

She advised members of the tribunal live above board in the discharge of the responsibility given them.

“The interests of all the stakeholders in the justice system should be taken into consideration.

“You should surmount all the challenges and should not tolerate requests for unnecessary adjournments,” she stated.

In his comment, the state Commissioner of Justice, Mr Suleiman Usman advised members of the tribunals to be guided by the law and not compromise the image of the judiciary in handling their assignment.

NAN reports that the tribunals, one for each of the three senatorial zones, was given 90 days within which to complete the assignment.

The tribunal for Sokoto Central Zone has Isa Bargaja as chairman, with Mohammed Adeleke and Zulai Bello as members.

The Eastern zone has Shaibu Ahmed as chairman, while Aisha Abdullahi and Mohammed Sambo would serve as members.

For the Western zone, Raliya Uthman was inaugurated as chairman, with Mohammed Mohammed and Wafee Suka as members.(

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.