AMVCA: It’s African film stars night in Lagos

AMVCA: It’s African film stars night in Lagos

Saturday, March 5, 2016 6:33 am

Funke Akindele at the 2013 edition

Funke Akindele at the 2013 edition

By Funsho Arogundade

Africa’s best in the film and television industry and other celebrities in the continent  would converge inside the Eko Convention Centre of Eko Hotels & Suites as the third edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award (AMVCA) hold tonight Saturday 5 March.

The glamorous and entertaining movie award, put together by AfricaMagic in association with MultiChoice and Amstel Malta, will recognise and reward the efforts of African movie stars and those behind the cameras with votes from viewers. Over 100 million viewers across Africa are expected to see the event live on DStv and GOtv platforms.

This year, 25 awards in various categories will be won by the best on the continent. Already, three movies (Dry, Ayanda and Road To Yesterday) with the biggest nomination of nine, eight and seven in various categories, would be on the spotlight.

Genevieve Nnaji: it's the stars night

Genevieve Nnaji: it’s the stars night

Folarin Falana

Folarin Falana

Dry, a directorial debut of Nollywood star, Stephanie Linus, based on the challenges faced by child brides and the issue of Vesico Vaginal Fistula, VVF is nominated in the categories of Best Overall Movie, Best Costume Designer, Best Makeup Artist, Best Director, Best Supporting Actress, Best Art Director, Best Cinematographer, Best Movie (West Africa) and Best Sound Editor.

Ayanda is a  love story tale, starring  award-winning actor OC Ukeje alongside Fulu Mugovhani, follows with eight nominations in such categories as Best Overall Movie, Best Writer, Best Makeup Artist, Best Director, Best Actress, Best Movie (Southern Africa), Best Cinematographer and Best Sound Editor.

The third movie, Road to Yesterday, a debut production of Nollywood sultry actress, Genevieve Nnaji, scooped seven nominations in the Best Overall Movie, Best Writer, Best Director, Best Actress, Best Picture Editor, Best Movie (West Africa) and Best Sound Editor categories.

There are other individual actors and actresses in the race for top prize including IK Ogbonna, Bishop Imeh Umoh, Kelechi Udegbe, Bowoto Jephthah and Folarin Falana (Best Actor in A Comedy); Mike Ezuruonye, Majid Micheal, Van Vicker, Daniel K. Daniel, Segun Arinze and Blossom Chukwujekwu (Best Actor in A Drama); Funke Akindele, Lepacious Bose, Abimbola Craig, Nana Mensah and Ini Edo (Best Actress in A Comedy);

Others are Genevieve Nnaji, Mary Lazarus, Belinda Effah, Fulu Mugovhani, Adesua Etomi and Nse Ikpe-Etim (Best Actress in A Drama); Sambassa Nzeribe, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Soibifaa Dokubo, Olumide Oworu and O.C. Ukeje (Best Supporting Actor) and Beverly Naya, Thishiwe Ziqubu, Tunbosun Aiyedihin, Zubaidat Ibrahim Fagge and Lepacious Bose (Best Supporting Actress).

Ishaya Bako, Akin Omotosho, Sara Blecher, Walter ‘Waltbanger’ Taylaur and Shirley Frimpong-Manso will battle Stephanie Linus for the highly coveted ‘Best Director’ Statuette.

The award night, to be hosted by IK Osakioduwa and Minenhle ‘Minnie’ Dlamini, will also see electrifying performances from top African music and comedy stars.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.