Fagbohun, Sanni, Bello in race for LASU vice chancellorship

Fagbohun, Sanni, Bello in race for LASU vice chancellorship

Wednesday, December 9, 2015 2:46 pm

3 professors shortlisted for VC position

3 professors shortlisted for VC position

The Lagos State University (LASU) Joint Committee of Senate and Governing Council had selected three out of the nine professors initially shortlisted to contest for the post of the Vice-Chancellor.

The News Agency of Nigeria quoting sources, reported that Prof. Lanre Fagbohun of the University of Lagos came first, Prof. Hamidu Sanni of the Department of Islamic Studies, LASU, came second while Prof. Ibiyemi Olatunji Bello of the Lagos State University’s College of Medicine (LASUCOM), Ikeja was third.

The source said that the interview for the aspiring candidates was held on Dec. 7 for the prospective candidates for the office the Vice-Chancellor at LASUCOM.

The source said the Senate and Council would ratify the result at its next sitting ‎and would present the selected names to the visitor to the university, Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode.

“The remaining process will be done by the Chairman of the Governing Council, who will forward the three shortlisted candidates’ names to the visitor for his approval.

“The final approval rests with the visitor to decide who emerges as the V-C out of three selected best candidates, ‘’ the source told NAN.

Fourteen professors applied for the post within the six weeks of advertisement.

Nine out of them were shortlisted after several considerations of their qualifications and pre-requisites for absorption.

Six of the shortlisted professors were from LASU‎, while the other three were from outside the institution.

The shortlisted professors are: Prof. Abolade Adeniji, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Prof. Senna Bakre, Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics), Prof. Olatunji Bello, Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM).

Others are:Prof. Nurudeen Olasupo of the Department of Microbiology, Prof. Hamidu Sanni of the Islamic Studies Department and Prof. Babajide Elemo, Science Faculty‎.

Those from outside LASU are: Prof. S.A. Tella from the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ogun, and Prof. Lanre Fagbohun, a former LASU staff now at the University of Lagos (UNILAG) and a professor from Texas, U.S., simply identified as Prof.Oki,

One of the five candidates not shortlisted was the immediate past Vice-Chancellor of LASU, Prof. John Obafunwa, whose tenure ended on Oct. 31.

NAN reports that the post of the Vice-Chancellor of LASU became vacant on Oct.31 following the expiration of the tenure of the former V-C, Prof. Obafunwa.

The Lagos State Government had on Nov. 7 appointed Prof. Fidelis Njokanma, (DVC, Administration) as the Acting V-C of the institution by the University’s Governing Council led by its chairman, Prof. Adebayo Ninalowo.

Ambode had on Nov. 17 sent the LASU 2015 Amendment Bill to the state House of Assembly for ratification.

The governor had proposed, in the bill, a single-term of five years for the institution’s vice-chancellor.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.