APC sweeps out PDP in Nigeria's northern states

APC sweeps out PDP in Nigeria's northern states

Monday, April 13, 2015 10:44 am

Badaru Abubakar

Badaru Abubakar

It was a total sweep for the candidates of the All Progressives Congress in many parts of Northern Nigeria, as results were declared late Sunday and early Monday.

In Jigawa, the Governorship candidate of APC in Jigawa, Alhaji Badaru Abubakar was declared the winner, thrashing the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Announcing the result on Monday in Dutse, the Returning Officer, Prof. James Ayatse, said the APC candidate polled 648, 045, to defeat his closest opponent, Malam Aminu Ringim of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 479,447 votes.

“I, Professor James Ayatse , the returning Officer of Jigawa state Governorship election that was contested ,hereby declare Alhaji Abubakar Badaru of APC winner and returned elected, having scored the highest votes and met with the requirements of the Constitution of the federal Republic of Nigeria ,” he said.

Ayatse gave the total number of registered voters as 1,819,773, out of which 1,217,504 were accredited for the election. He said that 26,977 votes were voided in the 27 local government areas.

Badaru contested in 2011 Governorship poll on the platform of defunct ACN and lost to the incumbent Governor Sule Lamido.

INEC also declared Alhaji Abubakar Bello of the All Progressive Congress (APC) as the winner of the Niger State governorship election.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Abdulganiyu Hambali of the University of Ilorin, announced on Monday in Minna that Bello scored 593, 702 votes, to defeat other contestants.

“Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello of the APC, having certified the requirements of the law and scoring the highest votes cast, is hereby declared the winner of the governorship election held April 11, 2015,” Hambali said.

Abubakar Sani Bello: Niger state governor-elect

Abubakar Sani Bello: Niger state governor-elect

He said that the candidate next to him in number of votes, was PDP’s Umar Nasko, who garnered 239, 772 votes, while Alhaji Yakubu Umar of the ADC scored 2, 144 votes.

In Kano, Dr Abdullahi Ganduje, the Deputy Governor of the state and APC gubernatorial candidate, emerged winner in the governorship race .

The Returning Officer for the state governorship election, Prof. Mohammed Hamis, announced the election results in Kano on Sunday night.

He said Ganduje scored 1.5 million votes, to defeat Takai of the PDP, who got 509, 726 votes, and 19 other contestants.

‘’Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje of APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected’’, he said.

Dr. Abdullahi Ganduje of APC :wins Kano

Dr. Abdullahi Ganduje of APC :wins Kano

The Returning Officer said a total of 5 million voters were registered, while 4.3 voters were accredited during the exercise.

Also in Adamawa state,Senator Bindo Jibrilla of APC triumphed over 11 other contestants, amongst them, Malam Nuhu Ribadu, to emerge winner of Adamawa Governorship election.

Declaring the result in the early hours of Monday, the Returning Officer of the election, Prof Geofrey Okogbaa, said Jibrilla scored 362, 329 votes out of the 684, 050 total valid votes cast.

He said Engr Marcus Gundiri of Social Democratic Party (SDP) came second with 181, 806 votes while Mallam Nuhu Ribadu of PDP came third with 98,917 votes, among other contestants

He said a total of 22, 042 votes, were rejected.

Senator Bindow Jibrilla, ex-VP Atiku Abubakar

Senator Bindow Jibrilla, ex-VP Atiku Abubakar

Meanwhile, the result of 24 out of 25 House of Assembly seats so far released, showed that APC won 22 seats while SDP and PDP got one seat each.

In Nasarawa State, incumbent Gov Umaru Al-makura of the APC retained his seat, scoring 309,746 votes, to defeat his closet opponent, former Information Minister, Mr Labaran Maku of APGA, who polled 178,983 votes, and three other contestants.

Announcing the result in Lafia in the early hours of Monday, the Returning Officer, Prof Hassan Abdulmuminin-Rafindadi, said that the governor won in all the 13 local government areas of the state.

Governor Tanko Al-Makura:  re-elected in Nasarawa

Governor Tanko Al-Makura: re-elected in Nasarawa

According to him, a total of 623,279 votes were cast, out of which 613,508 were valid.

The All Progressive Congress(APC), also won the Governorship seat in Kebbi State, with its candidate, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu, garnering 477,376 votes, to defeat 16 other candidates.

The Returning Officer, ,Prof.Muhammad Lawal, who announced the result, said that of the 1,454,369 total registered voters, 873,542 were accredited and participated in the election

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.