Flying Eagles Win 7th African Crown

Flying Eagles Win 7th African Crown

Monday, March 23, 2015 12:02 am

Champions for the 7th time: Nigeria's Flying Eagles

Champions for the 7th time: Nigeria’s Flying Eagles

Nigeria’s U-20 national team claimed a seventh title at the African Youth Championship following a lone goal win over host nation Senegal in Sunday’s final in Dakar.

In a repeat of the tournament’s opening match, the Senegalese sought to make amends for losing 3-1 to Nigeria then, at a stage it would matter much more.

And the hosts made a fast start to the match, pulling saves from Nigeria’s Joshua Enaholo through efforts from Sidy Sarr in the opening and Ibrahima Wadji in the 12th minute.

Nigeria would take the lead against the run of play however, with Bernard Bulbwa firing in a fierce effort into the top corner and silence the home crowd after 20 minutes.

Bulbwa’s stunning strike did little to abate the relentless pressure from Senegal, with a Mouhameth Sane header saved midway through the first half before another effort from same player came off the crossbar minutes before the break.

The trend continued in the second half as Enaholo made a save from Malick Niang two minutes in, with Niang shooting wide after a howler from Enaholo before the hour mark.

Bulbwa was denied a second before the hour mark while Taiwo Awoniyi squandered a great chance when through on goal.

Awoniyi would be denied by Senegal’s goalkeeper again in the closing stages as the Flying Eagles finished strong to claim a record seventh African title and a first in four years.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.