Shettima appoints new chief of staff, 24 commissioners

Shettima appoints new chief of staff, 24 commissioners

Wednesday, December 10, 2014 6:33 am

Governor Shettima: complete sweep

Governor Shettima: complete sweep

Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno state has forwarded names of 24 commissioner nominees to the House of Assembly for confirmation. He has also approved the appointment of Modu Alhaji Musa as his new Chief of Staff, in a move that shows a total overhaul of the government, less than three months to a general election.

The new chief of staff is a former member of the House of Representatives, according to a statement by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji Baba Ahmed-Jidda.

He said Gov. Shettima had also approved the appointment of Alhaji Grema Terab as Chairman of the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA).

The commissioner-nominees are expected to appear before the assembly on Dec. 16 were Bashir Garbai, Abbas Dawa, Alamin kamselim, Usman Durkwa, Kaka Lawan and Dr Haruna Mshelia.

Others were Yunus Mairami, Fanta Shehu, Yerima Kareto, Isa Buratai, Dr Salma Kolo and Usman Zanna, Zainab Gimba, Musa Kubo, Mustapha Fanarambe, Hassan Aminami, Dr Mohammed Bulama and Sugun Mai-Mele.

The nominees were Ibrahim Babale, Magaji Wamdeo, Ali Abatcha, Dr Suleiman Bello, Inna Galadima and Usman Zannah.
NAN reports that the governor dissolved his cabinet four months ago.

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Mr Usman Chiroma as the Caretaker Chairman of the Maiduguri Metropolitan Council.

Similarly, Ibrahim Miringa, had been confirmed by the house as the Chairman of Assembly Service Commission, while Babagana Mailafiya, was confirmed as a member of the Teaching Service Board.

Borno state has been the most affected by Boko Haram insurgency since 2009.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.