Eight Ogun lawmakers defect to PDP, SDP

Eight Ogun lawmakers defect to PDP, SDP

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 10:32 pm

Abiodun Onafuye/ Abeokuta

Five members of the Ogun State House of Assembly have defected from their original parties to pitch tent with the Peoples Democratic Party, while another three have switched allegiance to the newly formed Social Democratic Party, SDP.

The announcement of the defection was made today during the plenary sitting by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon Surajudeen Ishola Adekunbi.

According to him, “I received a letter announcing the defection of Messer’s Joseph Adegbesan, (Ijebu North 2), Salmon
Adeleke,(Imeko-Afon), John Obafemi,(Remo North) Remmy Hazzan (Odogbolu) and Obafemi Olowo-Oloja (Ijebu East) to the PDP.

“I also got three letters this morning from Hon. Olufemi Allen-Taylor,(Abeokuta South 2), Oludaisi Elemide (Odeda) and
Elizabeth Anifowose (Obafemi-Owode) announcing their defection from the All Progressive Party (APC) to the Social Democratic Party (PDP), Adekunbi said.

The trio of Adegbesan, Adeleke and Obafemi were elected into the House on the platform of the Peoples Party of
Nigeria (PPN) while Hazzan and Olowo-Oloja were elected on the platform of the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC

The five lawmakers had since been romancing their new party until they finally wrote the House to formally announce their defection into the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Also, the three lawmakers who defected to the Social Democratic Party, SDP are members of the House who are loyal to the former governor of the State, Chief Olusegun Osoba.

Meanwhile, the State governor, Ibikunle Amosun will be presenting the 2015 budget proposal to the House on Tuesday, 18 November, 2014.

The Speaker, while reading the governor’s letter during the plenary today in Abeokuta, disclosed that the presentation of the fiscal proposal will be made by 10:00 am

“This is in accordance with the provision of Section 121 of the Nigerian constitution. Governor Ibikunle Amosun expressed gratitude to the members of Ogun State House of Assembly for their cooperation with the executive,” the letter read in part.

The Assembly has 26 members. The APC has 13, PDP 10 and SDP 3.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.