Lagos replaces 57 council chairmen, other officials

Lagos replaces 57 council chairmen, other officials

Tuesday, October 28, 2014 10:21 pm

The Lagos state government has asked all the 57 council chairmen in the state to hand over to the managers in their councils, until further notice.

Commissioner for information, Lateef Ibirogba, conveyed the order in a statement coinciding with the expiration of the three-year statutory tenure of the Chairmen and Councillors.

The order affected officials, including Supervisors, Council Secretaries and other political appointees.

They are legally required to vacate their offices by close of business on the same day.

“Chairmen are hereby directed to co-ordinate the exercise and hand over to the Council Managers in their respective Local Governments who will take charge of the administration until further notice.

“It is expected that newly elected officials will resume office after the next local government elections to be scheduled and conducted by the State Independent Electoral Commission upon completion of the continuous voter registration, ward re-delineation and polling booth re-distribution exercise embarked upon by the Independent National Electoral Commission,” Ibirogba added.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.