INEC declares PDP winner of Niger east senate seat

INEC declares PDP winner of Niger east senate seat

Sunday, September 7, 2014 9:22 am

David Umaru: loses to Zagbai

David Umaru: loses to Zagbai

Nigeria’s  Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Dr Shem Zagbai of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Niger East Senatorial by-election after a re-run.

INEC had declared the Aug. 30 by-election  inconclusive due to electoral malpractice in some polling units.

The re-run was held in polling units in Bosso, Chanchaga, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi and Shiroro local government areas on Saturday.

Prof. Morenikeji Olakonmi, Returning Officer for the election, who announced the results in Minna, said that Zagbai scored 92, 056 votes against Mr David Umaru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 87, 405 votes.

He  said Isa Bello of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Mr Abdulahi Diko of Social Democratic Party scored 2,185 and 419 votes respectively.

“We have come to the conclusion of the collation. I, Prof. Morenike Olakonmi, hereby certify that I was the Returning Officer for Niger East Senatorial District by-election held on the 6th day of September 2014.

“That Dr Shem Zagbai of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner,’’ he said.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.