AWC Draws Set for Mid-July

AWC Draws Set for Mid-July

Thursday, July 3, 2014 9:10 am

Draws for the group stage of the 2014 African Women Championship will be held on July 19 at a ceremony held at the Windhoek Country Club Resort in the Namibian capital.

The ceremony scheduled to begin at 17:00GMT, will see the eight nations through to the ninth edition of the AWC drawn into two groups comprising four nations each.

Alongside host nation Namibia in the draws are six-time champions Nigeria, Cameroun, Ghana, South Africa, Algeria, Zambia and Cote D’Ivoire that knocked out defending champions Equatorial Guinea via away goals in the final qualifying round.

The biennial competition will hold from October 11 to October 25, with the top three nations at the end of the tournamnet qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada next year.

The 2015 Women’s World Cup would be the first edition to see 24 nations participating in the, up from 16 nations at the 2011 World Cup.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons qualified for the 2014 Africa Women Championship courtesy of a 12-1 aggregate demolition of Rwanda in the final qualifying round.

Join The Conversation

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.